Unlock Levelling Up With ‘Fourth Zone’

In its response to the Ministry of Housing, Communities & Local Government Planning for the Future consultation the Construction Leadership Council has called for the creation of a so called ‘fourth zone’ that would unlock tricky regeneration opportunities that have been blocked by existing planning rules.

The consultation, which closed last week, identifies three types of land use:

  • Growth – where development will be promoted with automatic outline approval for appropriate development
  • Renewal – where some development can occur
  • Protected – where development is restricted

The CLC’s proposed ‘fourth zone’ sites would set long-term growth objectives, would not be constrained by an initial outline plan and would build on the government’s commitment to level-up parts of the country where regeneration would deliver on real social and economic outcomes.

Read the CLC consultation submission here.

Read the full press release here.

Latest news